The well-being of our youth is a top priority of the Dorchester Times.
That's why we are publishing today's post -- to help parents take appropriate steps to ensure the children's safety.
Nebraska law declares that sex offenders present a high risk as repeat offenders. For that reason, in Nebraska, sex offenders must register as provided by the Sex Offender Registration Act.
This information is used to provide public notices and information so that Nebraska communities can develop reasonable plans to safeguard children and teens.
There are currently 22 registered offenders in Saline County, according to the Nebraska government site.
The Times spotted one residing in Dorchester, according to records.
Meanwhile, there are four in Wilber; one in Friend; one near Milligan; one near Pleasant Hill; two in DeWitt; one near Tobias; and 11 in Crete.
Be alert! Know your neighbors! Click here to see if there are any registered offenders in your area.
Under state law, there are three levels of registered sex offenders -- those who must register for 15 years, 25 years, and life. The duration is based on the seriousness of the crime.
To see the list of registered sex offenders in Saline County, click here.